RIP – Chartbuster Karaoke–1988–2012….

Wow. One of the premier karaoke music manufacturers just closed their doors after 24 years in the industry. Chartbuster Karaoke out of Tennessee posted the following message to some karaoke forums as well as emailed out to certified karaoke hosts –

—–

Chartbuster Karaoke is closing the doors after 24 great years.

As you are a Certified Customer, you’ll naturally have questions about your certification status, and the continuity of your shows.

Your certification is legal, and will remain so, as the date of purchase is the only relevant factor.

Thank you for your support, and we wish you all good luck in your business endeavors.

—-

It appears that another company has secured the rights to their karaoke library and a new portal for distribution is being set up at http://www.digitraxkaraoke.com.  Considering the sizable investment I made in Chartbuster products and certification in the past 4 months, I have to admit to being a little anxious about what the future holds for Chartbuster music and the karaoke industry as a whole.

 

-Chris

11 Comments on “RIP – Chartbuster Karaoke–1988–2012….”

  1. JW says:

    I just found this out today as well… My last two monthly shipments were billed, but never received. I am a certified Karaoke Hosting Company and own licensing to every track they make.

    We are in the middle of a karaoke contest for Nashville Cares and have given away one of their 8 hour recording studio sessions as the grand prize along with some cash, but does this mean the studio recording vouchers are worthless as well?

    I feel a little more than concerned. I brag on Chartbuster Karaoke and their studios.
    If they scammed me into sending them 1000’s of dollars while knowingly preparing to close the doors and not honor their promises; that is pretty shady.

    I certainly hope this is not as bad as my gut is telling me it is…

    • John says:

      I sympathize with you. I am not out that kind of money, but still feel as betrayed. My children spent $50 on a gift certificate for me. When I tried to use it, I found the company was out of business. They sold it knowing it would be worthless. I tell everyone that will listen about how they cheated my children and me.

      • Hold on to that gift certificate. Give Greg Taylor at DigiTrax Karaoke a call. DigiTrax took over the Chartbuster assets when Chartbuster dissolved. I certainly can’t guarantee anything, but they might honor the gift certificate. You can reah Greg Taylor at (865) 312-7772

    • joe candlish says:

      John: I need to speak with someone about certification. I mostly use Chartbuster CD’s. Can you help?

  2. Hollie says:

    This is a result of all you KARAOKE MUSIC PIRATES!!!

    • KJVJ Nighthawk says:

      No it’s not. It’s the result of people being in the business and are ready to retire and such but, don’t have any people to take over any positions that become vacant so, they sell out.

      You should never make comments unless they are justifiable and most importantly, based on you knowing what you are talking about which in this case, you clearly don’t.

      For every one pirate out there, around 50 – 75 legal users exist.

      • Correction – Chartbuster did not go out of business because the folks there aged and were ready to retire. Chartbuster was being sued out of production and the backing investors pulled out and formed as Digitrax/KaraokeCloud.

        I personally do not believe the 1 Pirate to 50+ Legal users statement (if you have something to back that up, please post). Especially if we are talking about just karaoke hosts and not singers/home users.

        In the past 20 years of my involvement in karaoke and traveling across the USA, 90% of the karaoke hosts I have come across are PC based. Some of them are obvious pirates – Torrent or mIRC or FTP or…. open on a laptop, ripping singers discs at the show, sharing hard drives, or they just flat out admit/brag about pirating. Some are much more clandestine about it, but still easy to spot with a keen eye or just a few questions to the host.

        Now, with only 1 U.S. based karaoke company left (Digitrax/Karaoke Cloud), and the overseas companies being forced to block North American customers, i think piracy will only increase. It’s easier and faster to pirate the tracks than it is to buy and download.

      • Harry says:

        This is completely wrong. it’s the result of pirates and the owners running the company into the ground.

  3. CrunchyCookie says:

    How sad that the two best players in the industry have vanished within four years of each other (the other being Sound Choice of course, which effectively quit in 2008).
    What other companies have thrown in the towel this century? I’ve heard of Music Maestro (no loss) and Sweet Georgia Brown (some loss). Is piracy the only reason?

  4. Josh says:

    “as the date of purchase is the only relevant factor.” So would that mean if I dropped 3 grand on a huge set of Chartbuster say a week ago on e-bay I can’t use them to start a karaoke business?

  5. terry says:

    I being a member of singsnap
    have questions about Trevors business practices
    in the past and now more so


Leave a Reply

